Welcome to the Safety Council of Southwest Louisiana

The Safety Council of Southwest Louisiana is a non-profit 501(c) 3 organization dedicated to cost-effective services for our local community and business sector. We have served the Southwest Louisiana area since 1955.

Our Philosophy

The Safety Council has expanded over the years to become a comprehensive educational and training resource for our community, serving as an innovative model for other councils around the country. From site specific plant safety orientations and customized badge security systems, the Safety Council of Southwest Louisiana is committed to meeting the safety and training needs of our members and the community we serve.
  • Workforce development is essential to our region
  • Provide exceptional value-based safety training for the needs of Southwest Louisiana
  • Create a professional, friendly environment that delivers outstanding customer service
  • Enrich the community through programs that promote a culture of safety
The Safety Council of Southwest Louisiana is a catalyst for employers and workers, and its mission is to support, develop, and enrich all forms of training as a way of making the workplace a more secure environment.


Improve safety and surety within the communities we serve.

Boards & Committees

Executive Committee:

  • President: Kenneth Moser
  • Immediate Past President: Larry DeRoussel
  • Vice President: Mark Hanudel

Board Members:

  • Dr. Neil Aspinwall, Chancellor, SOWELA Technical Community College
  • Larry DeRoussel, Retired Plant Manager
  • Mark Hanudel, Owner & President, R&H Quality Refractory Services, Inc.
  • Doug Landry, Owner/Partner, Howell Industries
  • Jim Rock, Executive Director, LAIA
  • Kenneth Moser, Region One Purchasing Manager, Westlake Chemical
  • Mark Jester, Manager of HSSE, CITGO
  • Gina Jones, Senior Manager, Learning & Development, Sasol
  • Mark Rhoads, HSSE Director, Cameron LNG
  • Tony Wood, Site Manager, LyondellBasell JV
  • Kristin Ned, HR Manager, Lotte Chemical
  • Dr. Mitch Adrian- Professor of Business Management & Special Advisor to the President; McNeese University